Bawburgh Village

Home News Noticeboard Contact Us

History Alphabet

Bawburgh Hall painted by Leslie Davenport, local artist, during the 1950s, with (foreground) the Dovecote (see D).  Original picture the property of Olga Sinclair, when it was photographed by Carol Twinch in 1992.

is for Bawburgh Hall 

Once a magnificent house dominating the eastern approach to Bawburgh, and part of the huge Costessey Estate.  It was built in 1634 - when Bawburgh was booming.  It became derelict, after first being sold to the Colney Estate and then in 1954 to Philip Vincent of Wramplingham Hall, who eventually allowed it to become too unsafe and too unviable to be restored.  The grounds became part of the Vincent's surrounding Duck Farm, and the Hall was demolished in 1963, in spite of an earlier preservation order.  It had stood for 330 years and had had a wonderful history of residents enjoying gracious country living, with tennis courts and oak panelled rooms.  The grounds now house the small development of Hall Farm Place, which was completed about 1980.

H is also for Hillside.

This charming property is perched slantwise on the corner of Stocks Hill and Church Street, and stands sentinel to the village on its southern approach overlooking the symbolic green triangle with the village sign.  Lucy Candler lived there at the time of the photograph, until she died in 1880 - she was great-granddaughter (see W is for Wagstaffe) and daughter of a subsequent Miller at The Mill.  Following this period, the house became the country home of Charles Noverre, who was the London Manager for Norwich Union.  In 1903 Charles Noverre (see N is for Noverre) invited a large outing from his company to the village and entertained them with bowling at The Hall and entertainment at The Kings Head.  This event was re-enacted by the owners, Tom and Janet Hubbard on 10th June 2003.There were various tenants after Laura Noverre died in 1920 until 1985, and the property was unoccupied then until the Hubbards, acquired the property at auction in 1989.  

The 1880 photograph of Hillside is the property of Henry Ashby, a descendant of both John Wagstaffe and Lucy Candler - who visited the village from his home in Surrey, one day in May 1999 - not knowing they would get caught up in Saint Walstan's Celebrations!

See the Iconic Buildings page for further details

Return to History Alphabet

 

 

 

×